Skip to main content

Education Resources: APA Citations

The American Psychological Association citation style, also known as APA, is the citation style used in the field of Education. Below are some style sheets and reference books you can find in the library to help you correctly cite your sources.

APA Citation Style Sheets

The American Psychological Association states that the style guidelines were developed "to advance scholarship by setting sound and rigorous standards for scientific communication.  They sought to establish a simple set of procedures, or style rules, that would codify the many components of scientific writing to increase the ease of reading comprehension."  -- Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Sixth Edition, 2010.

The APA style for documenting sources has been used by psychologists as well as scholars in other social and behavioral science disciplines.

APA Style Sheet
This document provides citation examples for print and audiovisual materials.

Citing Electronic Sources APA
This document provides citation examples for electronic materials.

Reference Books

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association: This is the standard citation manual for APA citations, and is available in hard copy in the library at the Reference Desk. The manual provides "clear guidance on grammar, the mechanics of writing, and APA style, the Publication Manual offers an authoritative and easy-to-use reference and citation system and comprehensive coverage of the treatment of numbers, metrication, statistical and mathematical data, tables, and figures for use in writing, reports, or presentations."

The Concise APA Handbook: This is an ebook handbook on APA citations. In addition to explaining how to create APA citations, it also provides guidance on avoiding plagiarism.

Cite it right : the SourceAid guide to citation, research, and avoiding plagiarism: This is a general citation guide handbook and includes instructions for APA as well as MLA and Chicago style citation. This ebook also provides guidance for research, evaluating resources, and essay construction.