Skip to main content

Education Resources: Databases

General Databases

Academic OneFile

  • A multi-disciplinary index to nearly 10,000 journals and magazines, about 4,300 of which are full-text 
  • Can limit search to peer-reviewed publications 
  • Can use an * (asterisk) to truncate a search term 

Academic Search Complete

  • A multi-disciplinary index to more than 8,000 journals, about half of which are full-text
  • Can limit search to scholarly (peer reviewed) journals
  • Search results listed by relevance; can change to a date order listing
  • Can use an * (asterisk) to truncate a search term

Education Specific Databases

Education Full Text

  • Provides full text of articles from over 350 journals dating back to 1996
  • Includes indexing for over 770 journals dating back to 1983
  • Covers a broad range of subjects pertaining to education

ERIC

  • Containing over one million records, ERIC indexes over 2000 journal titles covering the entire field of education; including, art, art education, art therapy, etc.
  • Includes indexing for both non-journal material (known as ERIC Documents or ED’s) and journal articles (EJ’s)
  •         ○    ED’s:  from 1966 to 2004, available on microfiche on the top floor of Dacus Library; from 1993 to present, available full text online
  •         ○    EJ’s: some full text of articles are available on ERIC; for the others there are links for checking Dacus Library holdings
  • Can limit search by year, language, publication type, and/or educational level
  • Can use an * as a truncation symbol to find all variations of a search term
  • Can print, email, or download results

Educators Reference Complete

  • Has access to over 1,100 periodicals and 200 reports
  • Covers multiple levels of education, from preschool to college
  • Content focuses on educational principles, best practices in education, and education specialties such as technology or bilingual education
  • Provides insight on education issues such as administration, funding, and policy
  • Use the "Topic Finder" to understand the context of your search terms and discover new connections to other topics
  • Can print, email, or download results