Psychology: Reference Books

APA proudly offers this focused abridgment of its landmark, critically acclaimed APA Dictionary of Psychology, specifically tailored for clinicians and clinicians-in-training. The APA Dictionary of Clinical Psychology maintains all the best features of the parent dictionary, including 11,000 entries offering clear and authoritative definitions--including a number of entirely new entries Balanced coverage from across such core areas as assessment, evaluation, diagnosis, prevention, and treatment of emotional and behavioural disorders; training and supervision; as well as terms more generally relevant to various biological, cognitive, developmental, and personality/social psychological underpinnings of mental health Hundreds of incisive cross-references that deepen the user's understanding of related topics A Quick Guide to Use that explains stylistic and formal features at a glance Appendixes listing major figures relevant in the history of clinical psychology and psychological therapies and psychotherapeutic approaches An invaluable resource, the APA Dictionary of Clinical Psychology answers the needs of clinical psychologists, whether they work in health or mental health clinics; in independent or group practices; or as consultants to professionals in such fields as medicine, law, social work, and consumer relations. Students in clinical training will likewise find it to be a well-focused and economical alternative to the broader coverage of the parent work.

This well-focused abridgment of the critically acclaimed APA Dictionary of Psychology is specifically tailored for scholars and students who focus on the field of developmental psychology. The basic lexicon of development across the lifespan is illuminated in thousands of entries and hundreds of cross-references representing four basic categories: Theories (e.g., psychoanalytic, normative development, testing, learning, Piagetian stages) Biosocial (e.g., heredity/genetics, physical/sexual maturation) Cognitive (e.g., learning, memory, and neurology) Psychosocial (e.g., family, community, education, employment) Moreover, a significant number of revised and entirely new entries will offer fresh perspectives on the multidimensional and multidirectional aspects and the plasticity of change across human life and in human behaviour.

The Cambridge Dictionary of Psychology is the first and only dictionary that surveys the broad discipline of psychology from an international, cross-cultural, and interdisciplinary focus. This focus was achieved in several ways. The managing and consulting editorial boards were comprised of world-renowned scholars in psychology from many different countries, not just the United States. They reviewed and edited all of the keyword entries to make them lively and applicable across cultural contexts, incorporating the latest knowledge in contemporary international psychology. Thus entries related to culture, as well as those from all domains of psychology, are written with the broadest possible audience in mind. Also, many keywords central to contemporary psychology were incorporated that are not included in many competitors, including the Oxford and APA dictionaries.

The Encyclopedia of Applied Psychology encompasses applications of psychological knowledge and procedures in all areas of psychology. This compendium is a major source of information for professional practitioners, researchers in psychology, and for anyone interested in applied psychology. The topics included are, but are not limited to, aging (geropsychology), assessment, clinical, cognitive, community, counseling, educational, environmental, family, industrial/organizational, health, school, sports, and transportation psychology. The entries drawn from the above-referenced areas provide a clear definition of topic, a brief review of theoretical basis relevant to the topic, and emphasize major areas of application. Also available online via ScienceDirect - featuring extensive browsing, searching, and internal cross-referencing between articles in the work, plus dynamic linking to journal articles and abstract databases, making navigation flexible and easy. For more information, pricing options and availability visit www.info.sciencedirect.com.

The field of educational psychology draws from a variety of diverse disciplines including: human development across the life span, measurement and statistics, learning and motivation and teaching. Within these different disciplines, many other fields are featured including psychology, anthropology, education, sociology, public health, school psychology, counselling, history and philosophy. When taught at the college or university level, educational psychology is an ambitious course that undertakes the presentation of many different topics all tied together by the theme of how the individual can best function in an "educational" setting, loosely defined as anything from pre-school through to adult education. There are few comprehensive overviews of the field of educational psychology and the purpose of this two volume Encyclopedia is to share this information in a way that is informative without being overly technical or intimidating. With more than 275 contributions, the Encyclopedia of Educational Psychology opens up the broad discipline of educational psychology to a wide and general audience. Written by experts in each area, the entries in this far-reaching resource provide an overview and an explanation of the major topics in the field of human development. The Encyclopedia includes technical topics related to educational psychology, but also focuses on those topics that evoke the interest of the everyday reader. Key Features " Addresses topics that are of particular interest to the general public such as vouchers, Head Start, divorce, elarning communities and charter schools " Covers subjects that are rich, diverse and deserving of closer inspection by an educated reader who may be uninformed about educational psychology " Draws from a variety of disciplines including psychology, anthropology, education, sociology, public health, school psychology, counselling, history and philosophy " Presents many different topics all tied together by the theme of how the individual can best function in an educational setting, from pre-school through to adult education. Key Themes " Classroom Achievement " Classroom Management " Cognitive Development " Ethnicity, Race and Culture " Families " Gender and Gender Development " Health and Well-Being " Human Development " Intelligence and Intellectual Development " Language Development " Learning and Memory " Organizations " Peers and Peer Influences " Public Policy " Research Methods and Statistics " Social Development " Teaching " Testing, Measurement and Evaluation " Theory

SAGE Reference is proud to announce the Encyclopedia of Industrial and Organizational Psychology. Industrial and organizational psychologists help develop strategies that optimize human potential and build better organizations by focusing on the behaviours within specific environmental, technological and social environment of a workplace. Industrial and organizational psychologists contribute to an organization′s success by resolving its human problems and improving the performance and well-being of its people. This encyclopedia presents a thorough overview of the cross-disciplinary field of industrial and organizational behaviour including: the development of individual employees; the factors of overall organizational structure; the use of psychology and the analysis of human behaviour which plays a significant roles in the contemporary workplace; workplaces increasingly impacted by government influences; growing consumer awareness; skill shortages; and the changing nature of the workforce. Key themes include: Foundations; History; Ethical and Legal Issues; Research Methods; Measurement Theory and Statistics; Industrial Psychology; Understanding and Assessing Individual Differences; Employment, Staffing and Career Issues; Developing, Training and Evaluating Employees; Productive and Counterproductive Employee Behaviour; Organizational Psychology; Motivation and Job Design; Leadership and Management; Groups, Teams and Working with Others; Employee Well-Being and Attitudes; Organizational Structure, Design and Change; Professional Organizations and Related Fields.

SAGE Reference is proud to announce the Encyclopedia of Multicultural Psychology. During the past 30 years, the study of racial and ethnic minority issues in psychology has evolved to what can be considered a significant and rapidly growing subfield within psychology. This volume represent a thorough overview of the psychology of racial, ethnic and minority issues and covers the breadth of psychology viewed through the lens of the racial and ethnic minority experience. Coverage includes contributions from all the major areas including: social; developmental; methodological; clinical; industrial/organizational; health; educational; and school and family psychology. Key features include: - supportive discussion on culture, not race, as the best way to understand differences among individuals; - a focuses on culture to provide a reference to the terms, concepts and issues used in this field; - a thorough overview of the psychology of racial, ethnic and minority issues and covers all of the major ethnic groups and subgroups; - a discussion on the sociological issues as well as conceptual issues relevant to the field of multicultural psychology. Key themes include: - Conceptual Issues; - Cultural Concerns; - Ethnic Groups; - Indigenous Concerns; - Measurement; - Professional Organizations; - Psychopathology; - Sociological Issue; - Treatment. Topics covered include: - academic achievement; - acculturation; - affirmative action; - community interventions; - education; - health; - immigrants; - prejudice; - racial identity development; - social ecology; - stereotyping; - teaching multiculturalism; - tokenism; - values; - violence; - worldviews.

The interdisciplinary field of psychology and law appeals to students, psychological scientists, psychologist practitioners, and members of the legal and public policy professions, such as lawyers, judges, lawmakers, and other administrators of justice. This young field of research and practice is noted for its intellectual diversity, as it draws on all of the traditional sub-disciplines of psychology and on various domains of law, legal practice, and public policy. Although this diversity is in many respects a very desirable feature, it creates many challenges as well. In particular, the breadth of research and practice contributes to a dearth of comprehensive reference sources and makes it difficult for individual students, scientists, and practitioners to keep current with the growing knowledge base outside of their individual areas of expertise. The Encyclopedia of Psychology and Law addresses research and practice at the interface of psychology and law. It surveys the traditional subdisciplines of psychology: cognitive; developmental; social; clinical; biological; and industrial-organizational psychology. Published as two volumes and consisting of approximately 350 to 400 entries (1,000 printed pages), the Encyclopedia provides an authoritative and comprehensive A-to-Z list of topics in psychology and law of interest to students, scientists and practitioners. Entries vary in length from 1,000 to 3,000 words, are written in clear and concise language, and are designed to inform without overwhelming the reader. Entries are organized with the use of a reader′s guide, which will contain such categories as criminal behavior and Treatment, juvenile offenders, eyewitness memory, forensic assessment and diagnosis, and trial processes.

The Encyclopedia of School Psychology is the first comprehensive guide to this field featuring the latest research on school learning, motivation, and educational assessment. Approximately 250 entries by 175 contributing authors from psychology, education and counseling, child development, and special education address student success, behavior disorders, intelligence testing, learning disabilities, strategies to improve academic skills, and more. Key features: - Entries avoid jargon and technical detail in order to be accessible to a broad audience including university professors of school psychology, college students, elementary and high school teachers and administrators, school psychologists and parents; - Some entries i nclude embedded timelines to highlight the history and development of the field, which will be further highlighted by biographies of key pioneering researchers; - Entries on controversial topics (e.g., I/Q and intelligence testing) include "Point/Counterpoint" boxes highlighting differing sides to issues that aren′t necessarily clear cut; - Appendices guide readers to additional resources and will also include comparative statistical tables presenting information about student achievement, learning disorders, intelligence scales, and commonly administered standardized tests.

- One volume-reference work with approximately 250 entries, organized alphabetically for ease of use and of locating subject matter. Each entry will contain 5-8 references as well as a bibliography of references and suggested readings - An authoritative reference text on school psychology that would appeal to, and be understood by, a broad audience. - Will assist individuals in acquiring a general understanding of some of the theories, practices, and language associated with the field of school psychology

Not long ago, social psychology was a small field consisting of creative, energetic researchers bent on trying to study a few vexing problems in normal adult human behaviour with rigorous scientific methods. In a few short decades, the field has blossomed into a major intellectual force, with thousands of researchers worldwide exploring a stunningly diverse set of fascinating phenomena with an impressive arsenal of research methods and ever-more carefully honed theories. The Encyclopedia of Social Psychology is the first resource to present state-of-the-art research and ready-to-use facts from this fascinating field. These two volumes include more than 600 entries chosen by a diverse team of experts to comprise an exhaustive list of the most important concepts. The Encyclopedia is written for students who may be encountering concepts such as social loafing, deindividuation, base rate fallacy, ego depletion and self-handicapping for the first time and want a simple, clear, jargon-free explanation of what they mean. Key Themes " Action Control " Antisocial Behaviors " Attitude " Culture " Emotions " Evolution " Groups " Health " History " Influence " Interpersonal Relationships " Judgment and Decision Making " Methods " Personality " Prejudice " Problem Behaviors " Prosocial Behaviors " Self " Social Cognition " Subdisciplines

This authoritative four-volume reference spans the entire field of child development and has set the standard against which all other scholarly references are compared. Updated and revised to reflect the new developments in the field, the Sixth Edition is sure to be as successful as the previous editions.

This comprehensive volume explores the role of behaviour and psychology in the development, progression, and treatment of a wide range of medical disorders, discussing in detail the health psychology application to each of the 17 ICD9 chapters of diagnostic classification. Health psychology researchers offer an applied clinical perspective in describing the prevalence, prevention, primary, secondary and tertiary treatment, and future directions for research of prevalent disorders, including infectious diseases, endocrine, metabolic, nutritional, and immune disorders, congenital abnormalities, among others. This practical sourcebook should be a useful reference for health psychologists and medical professionals and is the first of three volumes that are both comprehensive and specific as they relate to the entire field of health psychology. Topics discussed in the second and third volumes include theories, models, and philosophical underpinnings on which the field of health psychology is based as well as specific health and behavior issues facing any scientist or clinician. Although this set could be used as an encyclopedia, a manual, and a comprehensive text, it is intended to encompass a newly developing, rapidly expanding, scientifically validating, and clinically recognized area concerned with human health and healthcare delivery.

The foremost reference resource for academics, researchers, and graduate students in psychology looking for the most current, well-researched, and thorough information in the field of social psychology Established for over 50 years; no other reference in the field can claim the stature or thoroughness of content as this classic resource Represents the full field from neuron to nation This fifth edition brings on board mostly new authors as befits a vigorous, cutting-edge science Features chapters on social neuroscience, mind perception, morality, and social stratification, among other new topics 4 Volumes http://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/book/10.1002/9780470561119