African American Studies: Finding Articles

• America: History and Life  
  America: History and Life is a complete bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Published since 1964, the database provides an incomparable research tool for students and researchers of US and Canadian history.

• Biography and Genealogy Master Index  
  This database is a first stop index tool for learning where to look for biographical material on people from all time periods, geographical locations and fields of endeavor. Biography and Genealogy Master Index indexes any print product that includes biographical information on multiple persons. It also acts as an index to other indexes.

Historical Abstracts  Historical Abstracts is a complete reference guide to the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life). This database includes annotated references to information on topics from the Renaissance to Tiananmen Square. Published since 1954, Historical Abstracts is a leading bibliography for historical study in the world. In addition to including the key historical journals from virtually every major country, Historical Abstracts includes a targeted selection of hundreds of journals in the social sciences and humanities that are of special interest to researchers and students of history

• JSTOR  
  JSTOR is the "scholarly journal archive." A non-profit cooperative project of university libraries, JSTOR has converted the contents of core journals in academic disciplines into electronic form. Winthrop subscribes to the Arts & Sciences I, II, III, & IV collections. Journals to which Winthrop subscribes are linked from the Dacus Online Catalog (DOC).

• Oxford African American Studies Center  
  The Oxford African American Studies Center provides students, scholars and librarians with articles by top scholars in the field. The core content includes:
  - Africana
  - Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895
  - Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present
  - Black Women in America, Second Edition
  - African American National Biography

• SocINDEX with Full Text  
  SocINDEX with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text "core" coverage journals dating back to 1895, and "priority" coverage journals. This database also includes full text for books and monographs, and full text for conference papers.

ERIC (EbscoHost)    ERIC, the Educational Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. The database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. ERIC documents since October 2002 ("ED" numbers) are available in PDF format at GPO Access

• Education Full Text (H.W. Wilson)    
  Provides full text, indexing and abstracts for hundreds of periodicals, books and yearbooks; database covers a broad range of subjects pertaining to education and is invaluable for education students, professionals and policy makers.

Phone:
Information Commons: 803-323-4501

Chat:
You can start a chat from the bottom of any library page or by clicking here. 

Email:
refdesk@winthrop.edu