Skip to main content

French Literature of the 18th Century: Databases

Library resources to help you begin your research into 18th century French literature.

All Databases

Click on the links below for additional databases available for your use.

Databases

Literature-Related Databases

 

MLA International Bibliography          (Citations, Limited Full Text)

  • Structured and works like Academic Search Complete and Historical Abstracts
  • Covers 1921 to the present
  • Most comprehensive international index for scholarly research on all aspects of literature
  • Covers scholarly journal articles, books, conference proceedings, dissertations, bibliographies, etc.
  • Search by keywords, title, author, or subject
  • Can limit search by language or publication type
  • Print, download, or email search results and full-text articles

 

Literature Resource Center         (Mostly Full Text)

  • Comprehensive resource on literary topics, authors, and their works. Includes full-text articles from journals and literary magazines, excerpts from scholarly books, literary correspondence, and diaries; book reviews; biographical essays on authors; full text of poems and short stories from contemporary journals and magazines; and links to Web sites on authors and their works
  • Worldwide coverage of all genres and disciplines and all time periods
  • Print, save, or email articles
  • Updated daily

History-Related Database

Historical Abstracts            (Citations, Abstracts, Limited Full Text)

  • Structured and works like Academic Search Complete and MLA International Bibliography
  • Comprehensive guide to the history of the world (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present
  • Covers more than 2,000 journals published worldwide; also books, dissertations, etc.
  • Search by keywords, title, author, or subject
  • Can limit search by language or publication type
  • Print, download, or email search results and full-text articles

 

Multi-Disciplinary Databases

JSTOR                           (100% Full-Text Articles in PDF Format)

  • Full text of hundreds of scholarly journals; all included go back to their very first issue
  • Includes "current" issues of two journals in Language & Literature area (Renaissance Quarterly and Representations); all the rest have an embargo of several years before articles can be added to the database ("Moving Wall")
  • Multi-disciplinary; includes 85 journals in the Language & Literature discipline area
  • Searchable; can limit by language, document type, and date, and to a specific discipline or even one or more specific journals
  • Remember to use quotes (" ") when searching phrases
  • To print or download a document from a Library computer, first click the link for Download PDF, then the link I Accept JSTOR's Terms and Conditions, proceed to PDF. To email a document from a Library computer, save it to the Desktop, open your own email program, and send the document as an email attachment. Option: Save the article to the Desktop, then upload the document to your own folder on Dropbox.

 

WorldCat                           (Citations, No Full Text; Part of FirstSearch group of Databases)

  • Catalog of books, manuscripts, and other materials held by more than 72,000 libraries of all types worldwide
  • Includes materials written from the 12th century to the present day
  • Search by keyword, author, subject, title, etc.
  • Can limit search by publication year, format, language, etc.
  • Good for discovering what materials are available on your topic in other libraries, and obtaining them via Interlibrary Loan