Skip to main content

French Literature of the 18th Century: Books

Library resources to help you begin your research into 18th century French literature.

Search Dacus Online Catalog

Books

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Delon, Michel, ed.  Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment.  2 vols.  (Ref.  B 802 .D5313 2001)

Diderot, Denis.  Encyclopédie: ou, Dictionnaire Raisonné des Sciences, des Arts et des Métiers.  35 vols. in 5 vols.  (Ref.  AE 25 .E53 1969)  Reproduction; originally published 1751. Each page of this edition has four of the original pages on each page.

Dolbow, Sandra W.  Dictionary of Modern French Literature from the Age of Reason Through Realism.  (Ref.  PQ 41 .D65 1986)

France, Peter, ed.  The New Oxford Companion to Literature in French.  (Ref.  PQ 41 .N49 1995)

Jones, Derek, ed.  Censorship: a World Encyclopedia.  4 vols.  (Ref.  Z 658 .W675 .C46 2001)


Bibliographies

Cabeen, D. C., ed.  Critical Bibliography of French Literature.  (Ref.  PQ 103 .B1 .C75 1947)  Vol. 4 and vol. 4 Suppl. cover the eighteenth century.    

Cioranescu, Alexandre.  Bibliographie de la Littérature Française du Dix-Huitième Siècle.  3 vols. (Compact Shelving  PQ 261 .B1 .C56 1969)

Giraud, Jeanne.  Manuel de Bibliographie Littéraire, pour les XVIe, XVIIe et XVIIIe Siècles Français: 1921-1935.  (Compact Shelving  PQ 100 .B1 .G57 1958)

Giraud, Jeanne.  Manuel de Bibliographie Littéraire, pour les XVIe, XVIIe et XVIIIe Siècles Français: 1936-1945.  (Compact Shelving  PQ 100 .B1 .G57 1956)

Wade, Ira Owen.  The Clandestine Organization and Diffusion of Philosophic Ideas in France from 1700 to 1750.  (DC 33.4 .W3 1967)


Histories and Criticism

Darnton, Robert.  The Devil in the Holy Water or the Art of Slander from Louis XIV to Napoleon.  (PQ 265 .D3675 2010)

Darnton, Robert.  The Forbidden Best-Sellers of Pre-Revolutionary France.  (PQ 265 .D37 1995)

Mason, Haydn Trevor.  French Writers and Their Society, 1715-1800.  (PQ 261 .M37 1982)

Petit de Julleville, L.  Histoire de la Langue et de la Littérature Française des Origines à 1900.  8 vols. (Compact Shelving  PQ 101 .P5)

Saisselin, Rémy G., ed.  Le Dix-Huitième Siècle: Goût, Lumières, Nature.  (PQ 261 .D57 1973)

Vier, Jacques.  Histoire de la Littérature Française, XVIIIe Siècle.  2 vols.  (PQ 261 .V47)

Worth-Stylianou, Valerie, ed.  Cassell Guide to Literature in French.  (PQ 103 .C27 1996)


Intellectual Life

Artz, Frederick B.  The Enlightenment in France.  (eBook, available through DOC)

Gordon, Daniel, ed.  Postmodernism and the Enlightenment: New Perspectives in Eighteenth-Century French Intellectual History.  (B 1925 .E5 .P65 2001)

Roche, Daniel.  France in the Enlightenment.  (DC 33.4 .R61515 1998)

Salomon, Henry.  Le XVIIIe Siècle.  (D 286 .S3)

Werner, Stephen.  The Comic Philosophes: Montesquieu, Voltaire, Diderot, Sade.  (DC 33.4 .W47 2002)