Skip to main content

Vocal Pedagogy: Websites

Resources relevant to the teaching of voice.

Search Google

To search a phrase, put quotes (" ") around the phrase.



American Choral Music

Part of the Performing Arts Encyclopedia Web site at the Library of Congress, this site is devoted to choral music in the public domain which is available for users to download. Includes 73 compositions, the majority of which are from the collections of the Library of Congress. The 23 composers' works listed here are limited to a period beginning shortly after the Civil War and ending at 1922. The music selected includes accompanied music, a cappella, sacred and secular music, and works for mixed choirs, for women's and men's ensembles, and for children's choruses.

International Music Score Library Project.

The IMSLP was created to provide public-domain music scores free of charge to anyone with Internet access. It includes music scores in PDF versions; audio files of some pieces of music, with downloadable MP3 files; and music-related forums and a blog. Browse by composer; browse recordings by composer; and search by melody, instrumentation, or genre.

National Association for Music Education (NAfME)

This association, among the world’s largest arts education organizations, is the only association that addresses all aspects of music education. NAfME advocates at the local, state, and national levels; provides resources for teachers, parents, and administrators; hosts professional development events; and offers a variety of opportunities for students and teachers. The Association orchestrates success for millions of students nationwide and has supported music educators at all teaching levels for more than a century.

National Association of Teachers of Singing (NATS)

Founded in 1944, National Association of Teachers of Singing, Inc. (NATS) is the largest professional association of teachers of singing in the world with more than 7,000 members in the United States, Canada, and nearly 30 other countries. Its mission is to encourage the highest standards of the vocal art and of ethical principles in the teaching of singing; and to promote vocal education and research at all levels, both for the enrichment of the general public and for the professional advancement of the talented.


Performing Arts Encyclopedia

The Performing Arts Encyclopedia (PAE) is a guide to performing arts resources at the Library of Congress. The PAE provides information about the Library's collections of scores, sheet music, audio recordings, films, photographs, and other materials. Users can find digitized items from the collections; special Web presentations on topics and collections; articles and biographical essays; finding aids to collections; databases for performing arts resources; information on concerts at the Library; and a special Performing Arts Resource Guide which contains entries for hundreds of Library collections, Web sites, databases and exhibits.