Skip to main content

Opera Literature: Databases

Resources relevant to the opera literature.

Online Databases - Full-Text

Databases available through Dacus Library Online

Academic Search Complete   The world's largest multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Complete provides full text publications, including full textpeer-reviewed journals. Coverage spans virtually every areas of academic study and offers information dating as far back as 1975.

JSTOR  JSTOR is the "scholarly journal archive." A non-profit cooperative project of university libraries, JSTOR has converted the contents of core journals in academic disciplines into electronic form. Winthrop subscribes to the Arts & Sciences I, II, III, & IV collections. Journals to which Winthrop subscribes are linked from the Dacus Online Catalog (DOC).

Oxford Music Online  Oxford Music Online (OMO) is the access-point for Oxford music reference subscriptions and products, including Grove Music Online, The Oxford Companion to Music, and The Oxford Dictionary of Music. With OMO patrons can cross-search Grove and Oxford reference content in one location. Articles from specialist dictionaries such as The New Grove Dictionary of Opera and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, 2nd ed., are available via OMO.

Online Databases - Indexes

Databases available through Dacus Library Online

FirstSearch  OCLC FirstSearch is a service of the world's largest library cooperative, connecting you to informationn in a wide range of subjects.

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature  RILM Abstracts of Music Literature is an international bibliography of scholarly writings on music as well as music-related disciplines.  Dating from 1967 through the present, this database offers indexing of sources published in over 140 languages.