Skip to main content

Opera Literature: Books

Resources relevant to the opera literature.

Dacus Online Catalog

Dacus Online Catalog (DOC)

DOC can be searched by work, title, subject, etc.  The database lists all types of materials in Dacus Library and the Music Library, including books, DVD's, videos, journals, and online databases.

For a subject search, suggested headings are:

Opera Opera Bibliography
Opera - 18th century {or 19th century, 20th, etc.} Opera Chronology
Opera - United States {or England, Russia, etc.} Opera Dictionaries


DeVenney, David P.  The Chorus in Opera:  a Guide to the Repertory.  (Ref.  ML128.C48.D47 1993)

Duckles, Vincent.  Music Reference and Research Materials:  An Annotated Bibliography.  5th ed. (Ref. ML113.D83 1997)  The classical bibliography of reference materials in music.  Opera section, pp. 74-87; extensive references to composers and operas in index.

Ewen, David.  Musicians Since 1900:  Performers in Concert and Opera.  (Ref. ML105.E97)

Marco, Guy A.  Opera:  a Research and Information Guide.  (Ref. ML128.O4.M28 1984)

Parsons, Charles H. Mellen Opera Reference Index Series title.  19 vols. (Ref. ML102.O6.P25 1986).  Listed below as a dictionary also.  Volumes have individual titles.

Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, Histories, and Chronologies

Harvard Dictionary of Music. (Ref. ML100.A64 2003)

Moore, Frank Ledlie.  Crowell's Handbook of World Opera.  (ML102.O6.M6)

New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians.  2nd ed. 29 vols. (Ref. ML100.N48 2001;  Music Library ML100.N48 2001).  The classic, basic English language reference source for music.  Newly updated, very comprehensive. Also available online at Grove Music Online

New Grove Dictionary of Opera.  4 vols. (Ref. ML102.O6.N5 1992)

New Kobbe's Opera Book.  (Ref. MT95.K52 1997)

New Penguin Opera Guide. Rev. ed of the Viking Opera Guide.  (Ref. ML102.O6.V55 2001)

Parsons, Charles H. Mellen Opera Reference Index.  Series title.  18 vols. (Ref. ML102.O6.P25 1986).  Various volumes have separate individual titles.  This source is also listed above as a bibliography.  

Simon and Schuster Book of the Opera:  a Complete Reference Guide - 1598 to the present.  Translation of L'Opera:  Repertorio della Lirica dal 1597.  (Music Library  ML102.O6.O63)

Who's Who in Opera:  An International Biographical Directory of Singers, Conductors, Directors, Designers, and Administrators.  (Ref. ML102.O6.W5)