Skip to main content

US & the Middle East: Databases

All Databases

Click on the links below for additional databases available for your use.

Databases

Academic OneFile

  • A multi-disciplinary index to nearly 10,000 journals and magazines, about 4,300 of which are full-text 
  • Can limit search to peer-reviewed publications 
  • Can use an * (asterisk) to truncate a search term

Academic Search Complete

  • A multi-disciplinary index to more than 8,000 journals, about half of which are full-text
  • Can limit search to scholarly (peer reviewed) journals
  • Search results listed by relevance; can change to a date order listing
  • Can use an * (asterisk) to truncate a search term

America: History and Life

  • History of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
  • Published since 1964, includes over 450,000 bibliographic entries.
  • Sources are scholarly.
  • Can use an *(asterisk) to truncate a search term.

Culturegrams

  • Separate editions for: World, States, Provinces and Kids
  • 200+ United Nations-member countries included, with reports containing history, customs, family, lifestyle, recipes, economy and more
  • Each U.S. state, the District of Columbia, and the 13 Canadian provinces are included, with reports containing maps, flags, symbols, history, economy, geography, population and more
  • Video stories, slideshows, a worldwide photo gallery and create-your-own data tables


Communication and Mass Media Complete

  • Indexes over 600 core journals in the field of mass communication, over half of which are full-text online
  • Coverage for many titles is from their first issue, some as far back as 1915

Historical Abstracts

  • History of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life).
  • Published since 1954, includes over 1/2 million entries, from over 2000 journals, on topics from the Renaissance to Tiananmen Square
  • Sources are scholarly.
  • Can use an *(asterisk) to truncate a search term.

JSTOR

  • "Scholarly journal archive"
  • Can use an *(asterish) to truncate a search term

Newsbank

  • Provides full-text of hundreds of local, regional, and national newspapers.  Local papers include the Rock Hill Herald (5/1/2004 to present), the Charlotte Observer (1/1/1985 to present), and The State (12/1/1987 to present)
  • Also includes full-text of a few news magazines
  • Coverage varies

Opposing Viewpoints In Context

  • Current topics
  • Each topics' supporters and detractors