Skip to main content

Art History: Basic Sources: Reference Resources

Search Dacus Online Catalog

Reference Resources

Listed below are peer-reviewed reference books that are available for your use.  Some of these are located on the shelves near the reference desk, others are available online.

The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms

(Ref. N33 .C575 2010)

Credo Reference

An online collection of scholarly reference books covering all subject areas.

The Dictionary of Art

(Ref. N31 .D5 1996)

Thirty-four volume set covering art and artists.

Dictionary of Artists

(Ref. N40 .D5213 2006)

Fourteen-volume set covering artists worldwide.

Encyclopedia of World Art

(Ref. N31 .E533)

Fifteen-volume set covering art and artists.

Facts on File Encyclopedia of Art

(Ref. N31 .F33 2005)

Five-volume set covering art, artists, styles, etc.

Grove Encyclopedia of American Art

(Ref. N6505 .G76 2010)

Five-volume set covering American art and artists.

Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Architecture

(Ref. N5610 .G76 2007)

Two-volume set on classical art and architecture.

Lives and Works in the Arts: From the Renaissance to the 20th Century

(Ref. NX449.5 .L58 1997)

Nine-volume set covering European and American writers, composers, and artists.

Oxford Reference Online

Over 100 scholarly reference books published by Oxford University Press.

A Short Guide to Writing About Art

(Ref. N7476 .B37 2005)

A guide that covers many topics on writing about art including critical analysis, getting essay ideas, developing paragraphs, writing a catalog entry, quoting and documenting sources, engaging in peer review, editing the final draft, etc.