Skip to main content

Physical Education and Recreation: Reference Resources

Search Dacus Online Catalog

Reference Resources

Listed below are peer-reviewed reference books that are available for your use.  Some of these are located on the shelves near the reference desk, others are available online.

CRC Desk Reference on Sports Nutrition

(Ref. TX361 .A8 .K47 2005)

A comprehensive and authoritative desk reference on contemporary sports nutrition whose authors adhered to the principles of scientific discipline while at the same time making the text accessible to anyone with an interest in sports medicine. The listing includes important issues regarding exercise metabolism and performance, ergogenic prospects and products - both legal and illegal - as well as common dietary supplements and traditional herbs which play a part in sports nutrition.

Credo Reference

An online collection of scholarly reference books covering all subject areas.

Encyclopedia of Exercise, Sport, and Health

(Ref. GV567 .B78 2004)

Contains over 2,000 entries on training, nutrition, psychology, injuries, illnesses, prevention, and alternative treatments.

Encyclopedia of Play in Today's Society

(Ref. GV11 .E555 2009)

This two-volume set explores the concept of play in history and modern society in the United States and internationally. Its scope encompasses leisure and recreational activities of children and adults throughout the ages, from dice games in the Roman Empire to video games today. With more than 450 entries, these two volumes do not include coverage of professional sports and sport teams but, instead, cover the hundreds of games played not to earn a living but as informal activity. All aspects of play-from learning to competition, mastery of nature, socialization, and cooperation-are included.

Encyclopedia of Recreation and Leisure in America

(Ref. GV53 .E53 2004)

This two-volume set offers a look at how Americans spend their free time and entertain themselves. A total of 271 essays present chiefly historical perspectives in the fields of American and cultural studies, sociology, recreation, sports, and leisure studies. Entries cover all facets of American leisure with topics ranging from auctions and blood sports to shopping malls and theme parks. Articles range in length between two and six pages and include brief bibliographies.

Encyclopedia of Sports Medicine

(Ref. RC1206 .E53 2011)

A four-volume set with entries written by healthcare professionals covering all aspects of sports medicine, including conditioning and training, diet and nutrition, injury treatment and prevention, rehabilitation and physical therapy, and sports psychology.  Includes more than 550 graphs, photographs, anatomical drawings, x-ray images, and MRI scans. 

The Encyclopedia of Sports Medicine

(Ref. RC1206 .O355 2005)

This comprehensive resource presents more than 150 entries that contain valuable information suitable for the professional athlete, amateur sportsperson, and sports trainer alike. Individual entries explain many specific injuries, such as ankle sprain and jumper's knee, while extensive appendixes outline the most common injuries associated with popular sports, list safety tips and guidelines for each one, and offer advice on training programs.

Encyclopedia of Sports Science

(Ref. GV558 .E53 1997)

Part 1 covers sports of all types and Part 2 covers sports as it relates to the human body.

Encyclopedia of World Sport From Ancient Times to the Present

(Ref. GV567 .E56 1996)

This three-volume set covers the history and societal impact of various sports from around the world.

International Encyclopedia of Women and Sports

(Ref. GV709 .I58 2001)

This three-volume, illustrated reference set provides articles on all aspects of the history and the current state of women's sports. Included are more than 230 biographies, 170 individual and group sports, and 75 country profiles, plus examinations of cultural, societal, health, and ethical issues.

 Oxford Reference Online

Over 100 scholarly reference books published by Oxford University Press.