Nutrition 370 -- Food and Nutrition in Cultural Perspective: Books

What we eat, where we eat, and how we eat: these questions are explored in this remarkable book, first published in 2002. Now in its second edition,The Atlas of Foodprovides an up-to-date and visually appealing way of understanding the important issues relating to global food and agriculture. In mapping out broad areas of investigation---contamination of food and water, overnutrition, micronutrient deficiency, processing, farming, and trade--it offers a concise overview of today's food and farming concerns. Buttressed by engaging prose and vivid graphics, Erik Millstone and Tim Lang convincingly argue that human progress depends on resolving global inequality and creating a more sustainable food production system. Copub: Myriad Editions

This classic guide to nutrition has helped put the "balance" in balanced diets since 1937! Now completely updated for the Nineteenth Edition, this bestseller continues to supply authoritative data on the nutritional value of foods in a form for quick and easy reference. The book's main table reflects the current food supply—listing more than 6,300 common foods—and contains data on the nutritional content of foods, organized by food groups.

With all of the cultural and ethnic information that could affect patient and family care, POCKET GUIDE TO CULTURAL HEALTH ASSESSMENT, 4th Edition is the perfect portable yet complete reference. This guide discusses the clinical implications of ethnic populations from over 170 countries with a wealth of information on eachfrom languages spoken to health care beliefs and practices to eye contact. Ideal for everyday use, this handbook is the most comprehensive and portable resource on the market for patient care. Alphabetically organized by country with all sections presented consistently to give you quick access to important cultural information. Presents comprehensive content on all cultural aspects that affect patient assessment. Includes brief descriptions of each countrys topography and provides maps to illustrate potential environmental etiologies of an illness. Updated international childhood immunization schedules and the latest information from the World Health Organization provide the most up-to-date healthcare standards from around the world. Extensive bibliographies give you resources for further information. A streamlined and concise format with thumb tabs dividing each section makes this pocket guide the perfect quick reference tool. Thoroughly updated content includes new country names and their demographics, patient data, health care practices, and other cultural implications that affect care of todays culturally diverse patient population. New international contributors bring together a wealth of information on the specifics of care for patients from over 170 countries. Includes more historical and political information for each country to provide current background information. Increased emphasis on how a population appears in the worldview and how their religion affect decision-making gives you a fuller perspective on each countrys culture. More information on naturalistic healing and practices helps you treat patients from a variety of backgrounds.

'Little Data Book 2010' provides a pocket-sized ready reference on key global development data. It presents 54 development indicators for over 200 countries on people, environment, economy, technology and infrastructure, trade and finance.

YOU ARE WHAT YOU EAT explores the culinary traditions of cultures around the world. In each case, the food preferences reveal links with the social structure, geography and history of the culture.

This classic reference work presents a political, economic and social account of every country of the world together with facts and analysis. The 2011 edition includes: * Revised and updated biographical profiles of all current leaders * New and revised economic overviews * Revised and updated historical introductions * Chronology of key political events from April 2009 to March 2010 * NEW: Haiti in Perspective: A Timeline of Natural Disasters * NEW: Keeping Up With the News by Barry Turner * NEW: Key easy-to-digest world data on the media * Detailed maps of all 193 countries

One in every seven children is disabled. Children with disabilities are among the most likely to be marginalized, poor and vulnerable. UNICEF is committed to improving the lives of children, particularly those who face the greatest disadvantages. The report will investigate the web of barriers disabled children face: discrimination, harmful norms and the lack of accurate information. The report will analyse and provide good-practice guidance on: inclusive health and education; prevention; nutrition; protection from violence, exploitation and abuse; emergency response; institutionalization; and the role of appropriate technology and infrastructure

An undertaking without parallel or precedent, this monumental two-volume work encapsulates much of what is known of the history of food and nutrition throughout the span of human life on earth. It constitutes a vast and essential chapter in the history of human health and culture. Ranging from the eating habits of our prehistoric ancestors to food-related policy issues we face today, this work covers the full spectrum of foods that have been hunted, gathered, cultivated, and domesticated; their nutritional makeup and uses; and their impact on cultures and demography. It offers a geographical perspective on the history and culture of food and drink and takes up subjects from food fads, prejudices, and taboos to questions of food toxins, additives, labeling, and entitlements. It culminates in a dictionary that identifies and sketches out brief histories of plant foods mentioned in the text--over 1,000 in all--and additionally supplies thousands of common names and synonyms for those foods. The essays in this volume are the work of 220 experts in fifteen countries, in fields from agronomy to zoology. Every chapter is accompanied by bibliographical references. The volumes are organized in the following sections: 1. A determination of what our Paleolithic ancestors ate during their stay on the planet (over 99 percent of the time humankind has lived on earth). 6 chapters 2. An extensive treatment of the domestication and development of each of humankind's staple foods. 60 chapters 3. The history of our dietary liquids from beer through soft drinks to water. 13 chapters 4. Studies on the discovery of vitamins, minerals, proteins, fats, and the essential fatty acids along with a look at what they do for us. 37 chapters 5. A history of food and drink for all of the countries in the world. In addition there is a chapter on culinary history. 23 chapters 6. Historical issues involving human health, such as nutrition and mortality decline, height and nutrition, infection and nutrition. 18 chapters 7. Contemporary food-related policy issues are treated in this penultimate section of the work. Examples include chapters on food labeling, food biotechnology and the RDAs. 13 chapters 8. The last section of the work is a food-plant dictionary with over 1,000 entries that emphasize history and usage. The dictionary also includes over 4,000 synonyms for the names of plant food. Here readers well-informed about potatoes or asparagus can learn about lesser-known or strictly regional foods such as ackee or zamia and--among the thousands of synonyms provided--can discover that an aubergine is an eggplant, that "swedes" are rutabagas, and that "bulgar" comes from bulghur, which means "bruised grain."

A team of anthropologists and social scientists have taken a close look at more than 200 countries to document the myriad ways in which culture -- every bit as much as geographic borders -- defines and separates the nations of the world. Using a standard entry format for easy comparison, each country's shared values, behaviors and cultural variations are surveyed -- from foods and rituals to pastimes and arts. Lavishly illustrated with more than 1,000 photographs and more than 200 maps.

A series of books examining the cultures of select countries.

Globally renowned for its accuracy, consistency and reliability, The Europa World Year Book provides detailed country surveys containing the latest available analytical, statistical and directory information for over 250 countries and territories. For more than eighty years since its first publication, The Europa World Year Book has been the premier source of political information on library reference shelves, providing reliable and timely information with a global reach. Also available online: www.europaworld.com

A four volume encyclopedia available as an ebook.